​Hello all!. I thought I would post something that ran into recentlybecause I found very little information about this issue. Recently I decided to move Sharepoint CA from a WFE to its own server for indexing. When I deployed CA to the new server I found a couple issues happening. 1, when trying to access the CA using the new server name, I was getting redirected to the old server with a failure because the site was shut down. 2, when in the search administration I found that some of the links were also redirecting me to the old CA server. After some searching I found many posts that said to do the following on each WFE and the new CA Server.

  • Go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Shared Tools\Web Server Extensions\12.0\WSS and change the value of CentralAdministrationURL to whatever you want to be

Well, this did not seem to fix any issues for me. I found that if you go to Central Administration > System Settings > Alternate Access Mappings and change any URL that contains the name of your old CA server to the new name, this should resolve you issue.

Hope this helps!

