Well I have been sitting here trying to think of topics of what to talk about next in this blog. It is hard for me to come up with topics at times because I don’t want to post topics that everyone and their brother has talked about. Obviously there is enough blogs out there to talk about cfoutput grouping or some other topic.

I have always wanted to be here to pass along things I have learned, after all it is blogs just like these that have helped me. So the objective is to come up with topics that I and many others may have a hard time finding a lot of information on.

Well sitting here thinking, I come up with something completely off topic and yet pertains probably to everyone in this field out there tonight. We work hard, many of us live and breathe coding. I know I do. Not only do I live and breathe coding, but with being a systems admin I am constantly on the front line of fast-moving technology with that comes problems, and at times very time consuming issues. I am a person who refuses to let a problem beat me. I am determined to find an answer to any issue I run into. This many times consumes me to the point where I invest 150% of time in what I do.With that I want to pass this on to you so that all who run into this blog hopefully find an answer that may otherwise cost them a lot of time.

With having this amount of passion for your work as I am sure all of you as well have, your job can consume you and yet be somewhat of a hobby for you as well. People in this field do this job because they have an immense passion for it. You would have to in order to do this job. Many of us fail to diverse from our job / hobby, and find a different passion outside our jobs. Trust me when I say that finding another passion and hobby in your life not only helps to keep you sanity in your life, but also rejuvenates you from week to week.

Those who know me know that I am a father of 2 beautiful girls. They also know that I have a fantastic fiance in my life. Other then God and my job, my family is my priority. In 2008 I had lost my job and at the time I was a single father scared wondering what would happen to me and my family. Something changed that day, and when I found a new job out here I made a choice in my life that I would never go back to that day. I want to ensure my family always has security and never has to fear like I did that day. With that decision I never realized some of the stress it may cause in my life. Every day I put everything I have into my job, not only because I love what I do but I want my family to have anything and everything in life.

Not very long ago I decided that I needed to pick up a hobby that would refocus my attention to more then work and being a father and husband. Something that would refresh me and give me something to share with my family that shows them I am not just all about work. I am blessed in that I have a fiance that understands why I work the way I do, but it does not make it any more right. My kids need to see more then me poring myself into a job to provide, they need to see that I love them and that there is more to life then work.

I urge all of you whether you are family men/women or not. Don’t let your work consume you. use it and most of all enjoy your job, but find something that makes you happy in life and pursue it because it will make you so much more better at your job, believe me. To much of a good thing is not good. I think I have become more passionate and better at my job for it. I took up astronomy about 2 months ago and I see that being able to share this with my family has brought us closer and they have been able to see a different side of me. It has been so worth it.

I hope all this reaches someone. As with everything I write, I know this is not very eloquent and well spoken. But this comes from the heart. I love my family and have spent the past 3 years strengthening our foundation. I recognize that they need to also see me enjoy life, so that they learn and apply this to their life as well.

Take Care.

